Arizona, countries, attractions, Goruma

Short information about Arizona

Arizona was ceded from Mexico to the USA in 1848 and declared the 48th state on 14 February 1912. Its name derives from “arizonac”, a word from the language of the Papago Indians, and means “place of the small spring”. The neighboring states of Arizona are California, Nevada, Utah, Colorado and New Mexico. Arizona is one of the four Four Corners states, nicknamed The Grand Canyon State and The Copper State. Arizona is one of the wealthiest states in the USA. It has numerous natural resources. Its agriculture and industry are well developed. Extensive irrigation systems have made the former desert land fertile. Arizona has about 6.5 million inhabitants and the capital of the 295,254 km² state is Phoenix with 1.6 million inhabitants in the actual city – and 4.4 million in the metropolitan region.

Especially among tourists Arizona is famous for its desert landscapes and canyons. The state is considered extremely conservative and religious. On January 8, 2011, Gabrielle Giffords, a democratic member of parliament and Jewish woman, was shot in the head by an assassin. Arizona borders Mexico to the south, California to the southwest and Nevada to the northwest. To the north runs the border with Utah. In the northeast runs the border to Colorado and in the east the border to New Mexico. Here at the “Four Corners’ Point” the latter three states meet Arizona and form the only four-country corner of the USA. John Sidney McCain III (b. 1936) of the Republican Party was President Barack Obama’s opponent in the presidential elections of 2008, he was also Senator for the state of Arizona since 1987.

transport links

From Europe The largest international airport in the region is Phoenix (PHX). It can only be reached from London-Heathrow. It is also possible to take another connection to the United States or Canada and then change to a plane to Phoenix. For example the not too far away Los Angeles offers itself for this.

Contact us

Train Through Arizona Southwest Chief and Sunset Limited trains of Amtrak Railways run.

Southwest Chief Southwest Chief begins in Los Angeles, California and ends in Chicago, Illinois. Southwest Chief covers a distance of approximately 3,631 km, which takes him approximately 42 hours. The Southwest Chief travels daily in both directions. The Southwest Chief travels the states of Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona and California. The Southwest Chief crosses the Mississippi River, crosses the Midwest of the USA with its wheat fields and farms, crosses the Rio Grande and the Mojave Desert. The Southwest Chief stops at the following stations in Arizona:

  • Kingman
  • Williams Junction (here is a connection to the Grand Canyon Railway)
  • flagstaff
  • Winslow

Sunset Limited The Sunset Limited starts in Los Angeles (California) and ends in New Orleans (Louisiana) and thus covers a distance of approx. 3,210 km, which takes about 48 hours. Sunset Limited travels through the states of California, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas and Louisiana. The Sunset Limited crosses the Bayou region, passes the Mexican border, deserts and the Californian mountains and so the Sunset Limited trip alone is an experience. The Sunset Limited travels three times a week in both directions. Sunset Limited stops at the following stations in Arizona:

Greyhound In Arizona, Greyhound bus stations are located in the following cities:

  • Benson
  • Bullhead City
  • Casa Grande
  • flagstaff
  • Gila Bend
  • glendale
  • Holbrook
  • Kingman
  • Lake Havasu City
  • mesa
  • Nogales
  • Phoenix
  • quartz site
  • tolleson
  • Tucson
  • willcox
  • Winslow
  • yuma

InterstateThe State of Arizona has a well-developed network of Interstate highways connecting the State with other US States. The following Interstate Highways are located in Arizona:

  • Interstate 8 – Interstate 8 runs from west to east to Interstate 10, near Casa Grande, through Arizona in the south of the state and has a length of approximately 287 km in Arizona. It connects Arizona with the state of California and runs to the city of San Diego.
  • Interstate 10 – Interstate 10 has a total length of approximately 3960 km and runs from Santa Monica (California) to Jacksonville (Florida). Interstate 10 is the southernmost highway connecting the east and west coasts. In Arizona the Interstate 10 has a length of approx. 631 km and runs from east to west over the cities Tucson and Phoenix. Traffic jams can occur at these points.
  • Interstate 15 – Interstate 15 has a total length of approximately 2307 km and runs from San Diego, California to the Canadian border in the state of Montana. Interstate 15 is the fourth longest north-south highway in the United States, but it is only 47 km long in Arizona. In Arizona, the Interstate 15 runs in the extreme northwest in the so-called Arizona Strip, mostly parallel to the Virgin River.
  • Interstate 17 – Interstate 17 runs exclusively in Arizona and has a total length of approximately 235 km. It runs from Phoenix to Flagstaff and thus represents a north-south connection between Interstate 10 and Interstate 40. At Interstate 17 there are numerous sights like the Montezuma Castle National Monument, the Agua Fria National Monument as well as Arcosanti.
  • Interstate 19 – The Interstate 19 runs exclusively in Arizona and has a total length of approx. 102 km. It runs from the Mexican border to Tucson and thus represents a north-south connection between the border and Interstate 10. Interstate 19 is special because it shows the distances in km and not in miles. However, this will be changed bit by bit.
  • Interstate 40 – Interstate 40 has a total length of approximately 4110 km and runs from Barstow, California to Wilmington, North Carolina. The Interstate 40 is the most important highway connecting the east coast with the west coast. In Arizona the Interstate 40 has a length of approx. 579 km and runs from east to west in northern Arizona via the cities of Winslow, Flagstaff, Williams and Kingman and connects Arizona with the states of California and New Mexico. Interstate 40 is one of the main links to the southern edge of the Grand Canyon.

Airports Arizona has the following international, intercontinental and other major airports:

Route 66 The legendary Route 66 which once led from Chicago to Los Angeles and had an incredible length of about 3,940 km is still partly preserved today. From 1926 it was the through link to the west coast of the USA. Further names of the Route 66, which reflect its significance for the USA, are America’s Mainstreet or Mother Road. The Route 66 owes the latter name to the author John Steinbeck and his novel The Grapes of Wrath from the year 1939. Today, Route 66 is still a symbol of freedom and freedom. The attraction, however, is mainly felt by tourists travelling in buses and rental cars on preserved parts of Route 66. This is especially true for motorcyclists. In earlier times, Route 66 was about 645 km through Arizona. In Arizona there is probably the most beautiful part of Route 66 still preserved. Some old parts of Route 66 are now advertised and passable as Historic Route 66. However, these mostly run parallel to the new Interstate Highways and thus give the feeling of freedom, independence and the good old days only very limited. In Arizona, however, this is not the case there, Route 66 takes a different course than the modern highways. It runs from the east (New Mexico) via the cities Holbrook, Winslow, Flagstaff and Kingman and leaves Arizona in the west towards California.

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Christina Cherry
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: