Fight against sex tourism

Lea Ackermann (71), missionary sister and champion against trafficking in women, received the 2008 Romano Guardini Prize in Munich on Tuesday. The Catholic Academy of Bavaria thus honored the life's work of an "internationally highly respected woman who, out of Christian responsibility, stands up for the victims of human trafficking, forced prostitution and sex tourism.".

The grasping religious was an exemplary champion of women's rights, he said. Sister Lea was impressed that even Romano Guardini (1885-1968) had been appalled by the marketing of the female body in advertising. The prize money of 5.000 euros to the SOLWODI (Solidarity with Women in Distress) association, which she founded. SOLWODI was founded in Kenya in 1985 and has been active in Germany since 1988, currently at twelve locations. Among the 46 full-time staff members are 16 sisters from 13 different religious congregations. The association takes care of victims of human trafficking. He gives them shelter, organizes their medical care and tries to convince them to report to the police. Unfortunately, many potential witnesses are still deported from Germany before they can testify against the perpetrators in court, the nun lamented. She would like to see johns of forced prostitutes punished as in Sweden.

Human trafficking still not in the public eye Sister Lea expressed irritation that there has been no widespread popular outrage in Germany about human trafficking and forced prostitution so far. "The problem is not taking place on a distant continent, but right among us."The crime, however, is only inadequately prosecuted. An estimated 120 would be performed each year.000 women and children trafficked to Germany. However, only about 400 cases are being investigated. This makes human trafficking the most "lucrative and risk-free business imaginable". The Guardini Prize is awarded every two years in memory of one of the most important Catholic philosophers of religion of the 20th century. Awarded at the beginning of the twentieth century. So far, it has been awarded to theologian Karl Rahner, physicist Werner Heisenberg, composer Carl Orff, environmental politician Klaus Topfer and former federal prison judge Ernst-Wolfgang Bockenforde, among others.

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Christina Cherry
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: